New FIFA Club World Cup approved with 32 teams set to compete in 2025

March 15, 2023

FIFA has approved plans to expand the Club World Cup to 32 teams and the tournament will hold in June 2025.

The current format sees seven clubs compete for the trophy, with the Champions League winner representing Europe and competing with clubs from Asia, Africa, Oceania, South America and North America.

Real Madrid is the current champions after beating Al-Hilal in Morocco, and the Spanish side will be guaranteed a spot in the 2025 edition.

A report in The Athletic says the idea for an expanded Club World Cup was first discussed late last year, and FIFA approved it at its latest meeting in Rwanda on Tuesday.

The new format will consist of eight groups, with each containing four teams, similar to most competitions on the international stage, with the top two sides competing in the knockout round.

The current seven-team format will continue in 2024, but the 32-team edition will be used in 2025 and 2029, with the smaller version taking place between the editions with a newer name.

The winners of the Champions League in 2021, 2022, 2023, and 2024 will be guaranteed a spot in the 2025 new-look tournament, FIFA has approved.

Are you excited about the plans for the new FIFA Club World?

See also  PSG vs Bayern Munich: Match Preview, Start Timings, How To Watch, Team News, Starting Lineups and Predictions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.