How Many Football Clubs Do Manchester City Own?

man city football clubs with most fans

Today, many football fans believe that Manchester City owns many football clubs. This has propelled them to be curious enough to know how many football clubs Manchester City own

However, in this article, you’ll find out if Manchester City owns any or how many football clubs they have.

Do Manchester City Actually Own Any Other Football Club?

How Many Football Clubs Do Manchester City Own? - soccer manchester city f c logo wallpaper preview

While it is common to hear that Manchester City owns many football clubs, in reality, it is an erroneous assumption.

To put it straight: Manchester City does not own any football club.

The erroneous assumption emanated from the fact that Manchester City (majority) owners – Abu Dhabi United Group – actually own many other football clubs like City.

So, the name of the holding company that manages (and owns) these football clubs including Manchester City is City Football Group.

Thus, the actual question should be: how many football teams do City Football Group own?

As of 2022, Manchester City Football Group Limited owns 11 Football clubs. Here is a list of all clubs owned by City Football Club Limited:

1. Manchester City

The biggest club on City Football Club Limited’s radar is Manchester City.

Six times Premier League Champions, Manchester City are one of the biggest football clubs in England.

In fact, some of the most decorated Manchester City players have gone on to be Premier League legends.

2. New York City

2021 MLS Cup winners, New York City Football Club is also one of the clubs owned by City Football Club Limited.

Star players like David Villa, Frank Lampard, and Andrea Pirlo have represented NYCFC in the US.

3. Melbourne City

Melbourne City Football Club is one of the biggest teams in Australia.

The A-League club won the 2020/21 league title amongst other domestic trophies in their cabinet.

4. Montevideo City Torque

In 2017, City Football Group Limited bought Montevideo City Torque – founded in 2007.

After just 3 years of acquisition, Montevideo City Torque achieved promotion twice to the Uruguayan Primera Division.

The Uruguayan club has made giant strides since then by launching their football academy in March 2021.

5. Girona FC

CFG Limited acquired Girona in 2017 even though they were in the Spanish second division.

However, Girona FC’s fortune has since changed as they gained promotion to La Liga for the 2022/23 season.

6. Sichuan Jiuniu 

In 2019, CFG Limited acquired Sichuan Jiuniu. However, since March 2022, both CFG Limited and CMC holdings now own Sichuan Jiuniu.

At the moment, Sichuan Jiuniu operates in the Chinese League 2.

7. Mumbai City FC

CFG Limited decided to invest in Indian Football by acquiring Mumbai City FC in 2019.

Good enough, Mumbai City FC won the Indian Super League in 2021 after a dramatic 2-1 over rivals –  ATK Mohun Bagan.

8. Lommel SK

Off to Belgium. GFG Limited agreed on a deal to buy Lommel SK in 2020.

At the moment, Lommel SK operates in the Belgian second division and would hope to gain promotion anytime soon.


ESTAC – Espérance Sportive Troyes Aube Champagne is a football club in France that operates in Ligue 2.

In 2015, ESTAC won the Ligue 2 title.

10. Yokohama F. Marinos

In 2014, CFG struck a deal to own majority stakes in Japanese Football club Yokohama F. Marinos.

After 5 years of acquisition, CFG celebrated Yokohama F. Marinos’ J-League Title win.

11. Club Bolivar

As recently as January 2021, Club Bolivar joined the CFC family.

At the moment, Club Bolivar operates in the Bolivian Primera División.


In this piece, we have debunked the erroneous assumption that Manchester City owns many football clubs.

We’ve been able to establish that City Football Group Limited owns Manchester City and 10 other football clubs (11 football clubs in total).

In summary, see a list of all football clubs owned by CFG Limited:

  1. Manchester City (England)
  2. New York City FC (USA)
  3. Melbourne City (Australia)
  4. Montevideo City Torque (Uruguay)
  5. Girona FC (Spain)
  6. Sichuan Jiuniu (China)
  7. Mumbai City FC (India)
  8. Lommel SK (Belgium)
  9. ESTAC (France)
  10. Yokohama F. Marinos (Japan)
  11. Club Bolivar (Bolivia)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *